Theatrefront unearths, nurtures, and harvests vital new voices in Canadian Theatre. We engage playwrights with urgent, bold ideas, full of wonder and political relevance. Through collaborative dramaturgy and long-term incubation, we give artists what they need to bring their ideas to life. We are a home for curious, subversive, playful and daring theatre creators.

Our mission is to be Toronto’s leading generator of new, vital and arresting voices – creating stories that are relevant to modern audiences, exploring themes of personal and political identity.

As a result, we have produced award-winning productions of contemporary and classic works and developed thirteen new Canadian plays.

Our Values


Respect for our artists, their craft and their needs. Respect for, and accountability to, our colleagues, audience and partners through open communication, access and equity.


We love Toronto. We love its diversity, its voices and the myriad of stories waiting to be told. We believe it is crucial to represent this diversity in our professional relationships, our artistic practice and on our stage so we create stories that reflect and engage our community.


Theatre is the most collaborative of art forms; this interaction, this exchange, drives us. We empower our collaborators to shape the plays we build and push us beyond our own limits. Respect for the creative process and the freedom to experiment is a fundamental component of our work. Our commitment to a long-term, collaborative development process affords our artists the time and space to create sophisticated, layered and unexpected work. 


Artistic Leadership

VIKKI ANDERSON – Artistic Director


Vikki Anderson is a Toronto theatre director, designer and producer, and the founder of DVxT Theatre. Vikki's work for DVxT included the multi award-winning production of Ibsen's The Doll House adapted by John Murrell, the acclaimed Happy Days starring Martha Burns and a site-specific production of The Turn of the Screw. Under Vikki’s direction, DVxT received 19 Dora Nominations and 12 Dora Awards for their work.

For Theatrefront, Vikki has directed Mules, The Orange Dot, THE MILL Part IV: Ash and a workshop production of RumiNation™. She has been working with commissioned playwright Nicolas Billon on a new adaptation of Ibsen’s The Master Builder.

As a director and designer, Vikki has worked for theatre companies across Canada. Selected directing credits include: Top Girls (Shaw Festival), Good People (RMTC), 4.48 Psychosis (Necessary Angel), Romeo & Juliet (Canadian Stage) and The Last Five Years (The Grand Theatre). Vikki studied directing, design and anthropology at the University of Victoria and the University of Calgary (BFA). After university, she worked in the financial sector in London, UK before moving to Toronto, which she has called home for the last twenty-five years. She has taught and directed classes at the National Theatre School, University of Toronto, York University, University of Waterloo and the Toronto Film School.

Screen Shot 2014-01-08 at 5.26.58 PM.png

DYLAN TROWBRIDGE – Artistic Associate

Dylan is an award-winning actor, director, playwright and a founding member of Theatrefront.  He has performed with The Stratford And Shaw Festivals, Mirvish Productions and in London’s West End.  Dylan considers Theatrefront his creative home, and is deeply committed to our roots in the independent theatre community. For Theatrefront Dylan has appeared in eight productions, including fforward, Mojo and Tribes.  He also co-wrote and acted in Return, which received a Dora Nomination for Best New Play. Recently Dylan directed acclaimed productions of Space Opera Zero and The Harrowing OF Brimstone McReedy for Toronto’s Eldritch Theatre. As Artistic Associate, Dylan oversees the Playwright-in-Residence program, scours the community for emerging talent, and works alongside Vikki to curate, produce and program Theatrefront’s seasons.


Founding Ensemble

  • Damien Atkins – Playwright/Actor

  • Sue Balint – Playwright/Producer

  • Shane Carty - Actor

  • Daryl Cloran – Artistic Director

  • Kaija Corlazzoli – Producer

  • Patricia Fagan – Actor

  • Holly Lewis – Actor

  • Matthew MacFadzean – Actor/Playwright

  • Christopher Morris – Actor/Director

  • Dana Osborne - Designer

  • Adam Pettle – Playwright

  • Grahame Renyk – Dramaturge

  • Claire Sakaki – Producer

  • Lorenzo Savoini - Designer

  • Dylan Trowbridge - Actor

  • Gema Zamprogna – Actor/Choreographer

Board of Directors

  • David Kaiser - Chair

  • Richard Kostoff - Vice Chair

  • Heather Street - Treasurer

  • Sehar Bhojani - Director


Charitable Registration Number: 88818 3217 RR0001